Ye Olde Ranged Soldier

DeletedUser

Hello, again!

So I've been scouring the boards for information about Soldiers, and it seems that the general consensus is that it is very hard for Melee Soldiers to finish the Soldier quest chain.

However, the Soldier-specific suggestions I've seen for AP advancement are to put the majority of points into Strength, which doesn't seem appropriate given the above information. As Duelling appears to be an extraordinarily subjective activity with which to recommend AP/SP placement, I'm curious if there are general practices to adhere to with building a Ranged Soldier. The Pure Melee Build is fairly straightforward with the advantages of the Strength AP focus, but the complexity of mixing up Shooting, Aiming, Toughness/Reflex, Tactics/Appearance, some Dodging, and the ever-advantageous Soldierly Health Points inside of another AP focus is a bit daunting. Added to that, I'm new to the game, have yet to duel outside of quests, and am not entirely clear whether I want to play an offensive or defensive soldier or something in between.

What tends to be the normative build for a Ranged Soldier?

Also, if I'm a Soldier out on a quest, am I still available to "protect" my town?

Is being a Charisma-heavy Soldier for the high Tactics and Appearance and questing utility an extremely outlandish build, or does it have some merit?

Finally, is the Melee Soldier really that much of a dead-end?

My thanks for your comments.

oh!... in my forum-browsing, I came across a splendid post discussing in some depth each of the duelling-related skills and thought I had committed the thread title to memory. 30-40 posts later, I realize it has all become a blur and I can no longer locate that extraordinary post. Anyone happen to know where the post I'm thinking of resides?

Happy Hunting/Shooting/Stabbing/Building!

DeletedUser

Also, if I'm a Soldier out on a quest, am I still available to "protect" my town?