The importance of PUNCTUALITY

DeletedUser

Is it important to be on time to work? Social engagements? Appointments?

I am a chef, I run a kitchen and employ 7 people in the back of the house and as many in the front of the house. Of those 14 employees there are only 2 who show up regularly on time. To me that is unacceptable. I have fired people for being five minutes late (more than once). Am I expecting too much? I have not missed a day, nor have I ever even been 1 minute late to work in 15 years, and in that time I have spent up to 7 months of working seven days a week.

Do I put too much importance on being at work on time? Am I the weird one for being dependable and punctual? My data seems to point in that direction.

What are valid reasons for being late? I will accept a few at my work. Finding a parking spot is not valid to me. Rain does not work for me either. We could have a foot of snow on the ground and I still make it in even if I have to walk 12 miles and start my walk 2 hours before my scheduled work time in order to get there on time?

Am I just a tyrant?

DeletedUser

Very interesting topic iggy...

As always there is a lot to take into consideration, in general I think it is important to be on time if it actually affects other people (in more ways than just bringing up feelings about time and punctuality).