RP Discussion Something simple

Status
Not open for further replies.

DeletedUser

Well, I tried with Prawn Hunters, and Kith with apocolypse and Tiger with the WWII one, but things just seem too complicated for everyone to join in...

So I am thinking about starting a new western story taking place in the later 1800's (no single shot muzzle loading black powder weapons, instead the bullets, yaknow), but I need to make a good background story and have some good ideas to flow with it. I also need a good character chart to go with it, I want this to be rather interesting to everyone.

DeletedUser25825

So does this mean you're looking for suggestions? Or are you just announcing you're thinking? :D

I am a veteran of IRC (Internet Relay Chat) Roleplay and I've seen alot more success with that. Forum RP is very hard to get going and stay going, generally no matter what system (GM to haphazard everybody for themselves). It's too easy to just post something, do you life stuff and realize it's been days... then go back and find the story has already advanced to a point you feel it's too much effort to add and quit out to make a new one... or give up entirely. To make matters worse... in the meantime, another person, who probably was quite interested joined up... posted... and didn't see that immediate response to their post. Makes you feel unloved... or like nobody is paying attention... so attention and interest wanes. Vicious circle really. I am an avid player... while my interest stays.

Back to IRC... if you can find a group of individuals... who are able to sign on at relatively the same time... same day(s)... into a chat? Holy wow can you get a great and successful RP going. It doesn't have to be long amount of time. Even if you can get four or five people for an hour or two... the return is as much as a week's worth of forum postings.