Economic crisis affecting you?

DeletedUser

I'm just curious. I know most of you that play this game are between middle school to college under grads. And the rest adults? That is based on the innogames website. I hope there accurate.

All of us are spread out in the world, has your countries economy affected you in any way? I've been unemployed for almost a year now and my Wife will be losing her job next week. Things are sucking right now, thank goodness there is this game to keep my mind away from reality. :blink:

Edit: I want to add that I'm an MBA Graduate, don't get the idea I'm lazy shrew..

Last edited by a moderator:

DeletedUser3717

Same... Currently no jobs aviable for anyone now. Stupid Britain Lmao.

DeletedUser

In short, nowhere nearly as badly as it could have done. But still, it's meant pretty major changes. I used to work in the financial sector (hedge-fund management), but due to a mixture of seeing the writing on the wall of this economic crisis and wanting to do something I actually enjoy for a living; I started freelance writing 18 months ago. Vastly less money, but infinitely more joy. But if I'd still worked in the City, this would have hit us very hard indeed, so at least, from a personal perspective, I've had time to adjust already.

My mrs is a teacher, so like all public-sector workers, is kind of insulated from this kind of economic depression - in the sense of income and job security, at least. However, with things spiralling as they are in Britain at the moment, we're moving back to the US in a month or so (she's American, I'm English) - as however crappy things are in the US at the moment, cost of living is still drastically lower than in the UK (in london in particular.)

*In the spirit of OP's edit: I've got two Ba.'s and an Ma. and my Mrs has got a Ba. an Ma. and a Ph.D and I very seriously doubt either of us could find another job in Britain at the moment - and it's only going to get worse. Much worse. Much, much worse.