Chapter 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

mnnielsen

The West Team
Community Manager
This year, only those closest to them have been invited to celebrate Christmas at Forestborough Manor. In keeping with tradition, they start with lunch in the Hunting Room at 1pm. In previous years, Forestborough Manor's housekeeper Mrs Schroeder used to get a little extra help from outside for the big celebrations, but this year she thinks she can do it all herself. After she has been up with breakfast for Hugo and Isabella in the morning, she returns to the kitchen muttering to herself and rattling pots and pans loudly in annoyance.

When her son, Anton schröder, the steward of Forestborough Manor, pops into the kitchen for a cup of coffee, she exclaims "The little girl! Does she think she can tell me how to organise a Christmas party at Forestborough Manor? I've been doing it for twenty years! And I know exactly how Hugo wants it - just the way we did it in the real Mrs von Baum's day!" Anton, who knows it's wise to stay away when his mum is in this mood, offers to go and light a fire in the large open fireplace in the Hunting Room before heading back to his house to change for the lunch he's been invited to. "I love the Hunting Room at this time of year!" he says. "Just remember, you're not a member of the manor! Forestborough Manor is not yours," his mum warns. "Just wait," says Anton cheerfully, "you know I've always said that Forestborough Manor will be mine one day!" and then he leaves the kitchen.