Libya and International Intervention

DeletedUser

Alright frankly I was shocked to see that this wasn't a topic here and so I'm making one even though I'm not very good at making them and providing background info.

So, as of today (and the best of my knowledge) NATO is leading the enforcement of a UN mandated no-fly zone that has been imposed for almost a moth now. They are also conducting air-ground strikes on Gadaffi's forces in aid of the Opposition forces(Libyan rebels)

Previously to this the US was leading the enforcement of the no-fly zone and the strikes on Gadaffi's forces.

Oh Also the US has CIA operatives in Libya who may be intelligence gathering or may be "Intelligence gathering" aka arming and training opposition forces depending on who you ask.

Questions/ideas/concepts being:
Do you think that the UN should have imposed no-fly zone?
Should NATO be leading strikes?
Should there be any international invention?
Should the US be involved?
Should the US have CIA operatives or any forces on the ground in Libya?
If Libya why not _______(Insert name of other middle eastern revolt here)?

Feel free to answer any number of these or make your own, these are just ideas and topic starters

DeletedUser

Yes, at the point Qadaffi said he will kill innocent civilians with his plane attacks, the UN was obligated to intervene in such a manner. I just wish they intervened in other atrocities of the past.

Yes, the majority of Middle East nations respect and prefer NATO led forces.

Kinda the same question

Not without Congressional approval. Obama did a big faux pas, when he ordered American planes to participate there without Congressional approval. That is simply unheard of and sets a horrible and dangerous precedent, which I'm sure some future Republican President will utilize as said precedent, bringing us to war on the whims of the executive branch (Bush Jr. at least bothered to trick the Congress into providing congressional approval).